Philippine Travel Guide



 Blog (Latest Articles)

 Looking for Freelance Work?

 Free Directory

Submit Hotel, Restaurant and Resort Reviews






The Rich Filipino History - Milestones In History

Filipino history was believed to begun from the commencement of first humans through land bridges thirty thousand years ago.

The initially traced West visit is the coming of Ferdinand Magellan at Homonhon Island on 1521 in Samar, even though a Sultanate of Sulu was already instituted before Magellan's coming. This sultanate was identified as sovereign state of China. The Spanish colonization started upon the onset of Miguel Lopez de Legazpi on 1565 in Cebu. More settlements carried on in the north and in Luzon. In Manila, they founded a place and begun the Spanish colonization which lasted over three hundred years.

Here is the time line of Filipino history from the sixteenth century

* 16th century 1500 Kingdom of Manila rose under Bolkia's dynasty 1521 Magellan landed in the Philippines 1543 Ruy Lopez de Villalobos named it Las Islas Filipinas 1565 Lopez de Legazpi founded permanent Spanish agreement 1570 Kingdom of Maynila was conquered 1574 The Manila Revolt 1587 Conspiracy of the Maharlikas 1590 Colegio de Manila was established 1595 University of San Carlos was founded

* 17th Centry 1600 Biag ni Lam-ang was inscribed by Pedro Bucaneg 1611 Colegio de Nuestra Señora del Santissimo Rosario (Colegio de Santo Tomas) was founded 1621 Colegio de Manila was established 1623 Universidad de San Ignacio was made royal university 1645 Colegio de Santo Tomas was made University of Santo Tomas 1647 Battle of Puerto de Cavite

* 18th century 1762 Britain got hold of Manila - became a part of the Seven Years War 1763 The death of Diego and Gabriela Silang 1764 Surrender of British rule to the military governor of Spain 1768 the Society of Jesus in the Philippines were expelled 1788 Writer Francisco Balagtas' birth

* 19th century 1821 The Philippines became one of Spain's provinces 1837 Manila became an open harbor 1838 Florante at Laura was printed 1859 The return of the Jesuits to the Philippines, taking over Escuela Municipal (now Ateneo de Manila University) 1872 The execution of priests GOMBURZA 1887 The publication of Noli Me Tangere 1891 The publication of El Filibusterismo 1892 Andres Bonifacio created Katipunan 1896 Jose Rizal was executed 1897 Andres Bonifacio was executed 1897 Establishment and end of Biak-na-Bato 1898 Emilio Aguinaldo declared independence 1898 Philippine-American War conflict erupted

* 20th century 1901 Siliman University was established 1902 The U.S. proclaimed Philippine-American war ended although fight continued 1907 First Philippine Assembly 1908 University of the Philippines was founded 1911 De La Salle University was established 1916 The Senate and House of Representatives were established 1934 Philippine Independence Act was approved 1935 Commonwealth was founded and Manuel Quezon was elected to the presidency 1941 Japan occupied the Philippines 1945 Philippines signed the United Nations charter 1946 Manuel Roxas elected president 1948 Elpidio Quirino became president when Roxas died 1953 Ramon Magsaysay elected president 1961 Diosdado Macapagal became president 1965 Ferdinand Mracos elected president 1972 Martial Law was declared by Marcos 1983 Benigno Aquino, Jr. was assassinated 1984 Parliamentary election 1986 Presidential election wherein Corazon Aquino became president and the EDSA Revolution 1987 The legislative election 1995 General election 1997 Financial crisis in Asia 1998 Joseph Estrada was elected president

* 21th century 2000 Estrada was impeached 2001 EDSA II and general election 2003 The Oakwood Mutiny 2004 Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo was elected president 2007 The Philippine general election and the Manila Peninsula mutiny.

Although President Arroyo declared in December 2002 that she will not run for the presidency in the 2004 presidential election, she joined the race and became president in 2004. She also organized a debatable plan for a charter change in order to convert the current presidential-bicameral republic to federal parliamentary-unicameral government. Filipino history is rich and diverse ruled by many nations which makes filipinos unique.





Sign up for the FREE Newsletter
to receive latest updates
and articles on popular Philippine destinations, hotels & resorts,
beaches, recipes and much more.

Don't worry -- your e-mail address is totally secure. I promise to use it only to send you Philippine Travel Guide Insider Alert Newsletter.



Subscribe To
Subscribe To This Site

Add to Google
Add to My Yahoo!
Add to My MSN
Add to Newsgator
Subscribe with Bloglines




  © Copyright 2007. Philippine Travel Guide. All Rights Reserved. Powered by Reproduction in whole or in part without permission is prohibited. Most external sites will open in a new window;not endorsed by